logging monitor




logging monitor [severity-level]
no logging monitor [severity-level]


Syntax Description:

severity-level Limits the logging of messages logged to the terminal lines (monitors) to a specified level. You can enter the level number or level name. See the table below for a list of acceptable severity-level keywords.


Command Description:

To limit messages logged to the terminal lines (monitors) based on severity, use the logging monitor global configuration command. This command limits the logging messages displayed on terminal lines other than the console line to messages with a level at or above the level argument. To disable logging to terminal lines other than the console line, use the no form of this command.

The default is set at debugging (severity-level 7).

Specifying a level causes messages at that level and numerically lower levels to be displayed to the monitor.

Error Message Logging Priorities and Corresponding Level Names/Numbers

Level Name Level Number Description Syslog Definition
emergencies 0 System unusable LOG_EMERG
alerts 1 Immediate action needed LOG_ALERT
critical 2 Critical conditions LOG_CRIT
errors 3 Error conditions LOG_ERR
warnings 4 Warning conditions LOG_WARNING
notifications 5 Normal but significant condition LOG_NOTICE
informational 6 Informational messages only LOG_INFO
debugging 7 Debugging messages LOG_DEBUG


In the following example, the user specifies that only messages of the levels errors, critical, alerts, and emergencies be displayed on terminals:

Router(config)# logging monitor 3



Related Commands:

terminal monitor

� Cisco Systems, Inc. 2001, 2002, 2003
World Wide Education

Converted from CHM to HTML with chm2web Pro 2.85 (unicode)