Flash file system followed by a colon.
To permanently delete Flash files by squeezing a Class A Flash file system, use the squeeze EXEC command.
When Flash memory is full, you might need to rearrange the files so that the space used by the files marked "deleted" can be reclaimed. When you issue the squeeze command, the router copies all valid files to the beginning of Flash memory and erases all files marked "deleted." At this point, you cannot recover "deleted" files and you can write to the reclaimed Flash memory space.
In addition to removing deleted files, the squeeze command removes any files that the system has marked as error. An error file is created when a file write fails (for example, the device is full). To remove error files, you must use the squeeze command.
The following example instructs the router to permanently erase the files marked "deleted" from the Flash memory card inserted in slot 1:Router#squeeze slot1:
The squeeze operation might take as long as several minutes because it can involve erasing and rewriting almost an entire Flash memory space
� Cisco Systems, Inc. 2001, 2002, 2003
World Wide Education
|Converted from CHM to HTML with chm2web Pro 2.85 (unicode)|